The Circle of the Old Ones

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thread starter #1

grendel

The very old journals of Ufred

Ufreds journal, the first chapter.
The past, who I was, it is like a dream – a pleasant dream. The vast icedesert – the mountains, the snow, the cold and the peace. Sure we had wars, I was a housecarl – I fought, I killed men, soldiers and occasionally we enjoyed the spoils of war. Did I murder – yes, I was a soldier and a murderer. We all are, us warriors. That is what seperates us from the rabble, we are strong and the best of us are without illusions of heroism.
Did I have faith, yes – I did my duty at the feasts of the gods, I lit the fires and sang the songs when the old woman of the village sacrificed. And yes I honoured the spirits of my forefarthers. Was I a man of God – no.
Did I believe the village wise women when she sent me on this holy quest – no I did not, I thought she was insane. But I had no choice.. she dreamt that I went down south, she heard the voice of the gods, they commanded her.. to command me. I did not believe her, I perceived it as a unjust exile. How wrong I was.

How different I am now. No more honourable duels, no more fair fights, now I lurk in the shadows, I observe my victims, I study and I strike when they are alone. No funeral pyres for them, I mutilate their bodies, drink their blood and sacrifice their heads to the true god… to Great Cthulhu, the old one.
I hardly recognise myself. It is good that my thane does not see me like this. He would be disappointed.
Katla the wise woman ordered me to go to Tindrem, the smelly old capitol of this decadent empire that once was strong. There my fate would find me she said.